Welcome

I’m reading this over and I’m worried that I sound like a pretentious asshole, but here goes.

I’ve started this blog separate to my personal one, which you can find here, to try and establish a more solid and serious name for myself in the art world. It felt weird to have everything combined on my personal blog amid random other things while also trying to establish a proper reputation, and after some thought I came to the idea that I could create a portfolio-like blog to not only showcase works that I’ve done, but also motivate myself to do more. In addition to this idea of motivation, I thought that I could give myself small art challenges to increase my own knowledge of other artists, works, styles and eras; which if you want, can try too.

Since I was young I always had a great love and talent with art and I’m getting to the point where I don’t want to let my life go by without doing something with this natural skill I have. I can find art quite frustrating as I’m also a perfectionist, but by giving myself these challenges and getting myself to do more art, I hope that I can overcome the idea of achieving perfection. I want to show you my finished works, my doodles, my sketches, my materials and my inspiration. I want to become a better artist, and I want you to be a part of it.

As a creative person I’ve noticed that the man-made world wasn’t designed to make life easier for us – for example, maths is my worst subject and has never come easily to me. I get bored, it makes me depressed, I just plain struggle with it, and I don’t want it to be a major part of my life outside of school. And in an education system that makes maths compulsory and pushes art to the lowest priority, it feels like something needs to change. With global warming looming over us and imagination being repressed, how are the people that will solve these problems supposed to gain the inspiration to be innovative? I’d like to use this blog to help with this. If I can inspire just one person, then it’s worth it.

If anything, my creativity has taught me to appreciate things – senses, life, nature – and if I can share that feeling with you, and also has allowed me to express myself and create things that haven’t existed as yet before. Whether that is creating a wholly original work or drawing how you interpreted a character from your favourite book, it can be incredibly satisfying.

So, I guess in general, I’d like to expand this blog to be a hub of inspiration in different forms, and I hope you enjoy the ride.

Leave a comment